Posted by: bemyduende | 04/20/2009

All Senses 12: Columbine – すべての五感 12:コロンバイン 

Today, my family and I are heading out on a road trip to the Grand Canyon. Because of this, today’s post will be my only entry for the week, encompassing all five senses.

As we drive through the beautiful Colorado Rocky Mountains, to the astounding rock formations of Moab, and down on to the breath-taking vast expanse that is the Grand Canyon, I can’t help but reflect upon the tragic event that took place 10 years ago today, the Columbine High School Massacre.

In memory of the 13 innocent lives that were lost that day, I decided to visit the Columbine Memorial last week.   One of the first things I stumbled upon was the inscription below.

"I hope people come here to this place to think about how they themselves can be better people rather than come here to reflect on death." (parent)

This really made me think because afterall I had come to the memorial to remember the people who had died that day.

During the following days that “saying” swirled around in my head amid news story after news story of the anniversary.   I soon began to notice a trend within the survivors’ thinking, which was that they didn’t want to memorialize the actual event, instead they wanted to move forward in memory of the victims.

So with each day I have to see, taste, smell, touch and hear I will honor the lives that were so heavily affected that day by following the advice on that plaque.

I hope you do the same.

View from Columbine Memorial

For more pictures, click here.

Responses

  1. what a nice way to reflect on what happened. lets all remember that we’re all in this life together.


Leave a Reply

Categories

