Posted by: bemyduende | 02/26/2009

Touch 4: Taki – 触覚 4:タキさん

You know that saying, You never know what you have until it’s gone”? Well, with the passing of Hisashi “Taki” Takimoto I feel as though it couldn’t ring truer.  Taki’s Golden Bowl lives on, continuing to serve his legendary ginger miso soup and edamame, but I hope that his generous spirit will live on as well.   I actually never had a chance to meet him and have only frequented his restaurant a couple times, but after reading this article from the Denver Post I realize his legacy.  Despite the rave reviews, it’s not his food I’m touched by but instead by his reserved approach to kindness.  There is really something extraordinary about someone who will show kindness to others without ever wanting something in return.  According to a neighbor, he practiced “random acts of kindness as a way of life” making the fact that he lived a solitary life even more honorable but slightly more sad.  He must have touched so many people.  So even though he passed away by himself, I hope he left knowing he was far from alone.

今月、デンバーは大切な人をなくしました。ヒサシ「タキ」タキモトはTaki’s Golden Bowlの持ち主です。実は、タキさんに会えなかったけど、彼が人々を世話したらしい。 ひとりの生活をしていたけど、多くの人が彼を忘れることはないでしょう。

Responses

  1. You’re so right. This story both breaks my heart and uplifts me every time I read it.

  2. I know! Can’t you just imagine him meticulously preparing all those Ziplocs full of wellness food for the writer… so sweet.


Leave a Reply

Categories

